Bettina Landgrafe

1st Chairwoman and ICEO of Madamfo Ghana e.V.

Bettina Landgrafe came to Ghana in her early 20s. As a registered pediatric nurse, she tried to alleviate the need and distress in the country, by working in a small village clinic. The majority of Ghanaians live in great poverty. Many of them lack basic necessities of life, e.g clean drinking water. Pregnant women who can only dream of medical care and children that die from complications that arise during or immediately after delivery are a part of everyday life in Ghana.

The only available drinking water for the people in a village in the Volta Region.

But, Bettina could not and would not just accept that. And that is why she connected with this country “forever“. So, initially, Bettina lived with the locals in the village of Apewu, where she was appointed and “enstooled“ as “Nkosuoheema“, which means “Queen of Development“, in 2003.

At Lake Bosomtwi, Bettina met Victor Manu and Emmanuel Stephenson. The three quickly found out, that they had the same goal and that they went into the same direction.

To them, the key to successful, lasting project management and implementation is “helping people to help themselves“. Which basically means, that there are no foreigners involved, when it comes to realising projects in the villages – only locals and inhabitants make the decisions and realise the projects.

“Helping people to help themselves“ has become a leading motive, which is now mentioned in the press more frequently, but is scarcely turned into reality as consequent as it is lived and practiced by Madamfo Ghana – the friends of Ghana.

To realise their vision, the three founded the association and the Madamfo Ghana Foundation in Ghana. This was an essential step to obtain personnel as well as other funding – such as land for corresponding aid projects – as a legal partner of the Ghanaian Government. As a result, the association is very flexible in its interaction with the local authorities, extremely good connected and, at the same time, can save donations to pay possible follow-up costs such as personnel costs for schools, nursery homes and hospitals. Sustainability and helping people to help themselves could not be realised more effectively.

Because of her commitment and her visionary project approach, Bettina has already received many awards.

In her early years, Bettina already decided to fight – jointly with the Ghanaians – for a better future in this beautiful country and to stand up for her friends. Twenty years ago, her engagement started a process that had a positive impact on the lives of many Ghanaians and has changed their lives for the better.

Madamfo Ghana has been able to realise more than 80 projects until this day and she could reach more than one million people through her awareness and education campaigns. Nearly 500 young people have been given the chance to start a professional training or to study and countless people could get the medical treatment they needed and even undergo the necessary surgeries.

1,200 children are able to have a warm meal for lunch – thanks to the Madamfo Ghana School Feeding Programme. And, furthermore, there is a special fund to support physically and mentally impaired children and due to flexible emergency aid projects, lives can be saved in precarious situations.

The Reforestation Programme in the north of Ghana creates income for the locals and counters rural exodus with hope for a better future. The project is complemented with climate protection and education programs for more than 15,000 children. A bee-farming project will be added in 2020.

Bettina Landgrafe

1. Vorsitzende und Geschäftsführerin von Madamfo Ghana e.V.

Bettina Landgrafe kam mit Anfang 20 nach Ghana. Als examinierte Kinderkrankenschwester versuchte sie, die Not im Land durch ihre Mitarbeit in einer kleinen Buschklinik zu lindern, denn ein Großteil der Bevölkerung in Ghana lebt in großer Armut. Vielen fehlt es an einfachen Lebensgrundlagen, wie zum Beispiel sauberem Trinkwasser. Hochschwangere, die von medizinischer Versorgung nur träumen können und Kinder, die bei der Geburt sterben, gehören hier zum Alltag – doch das konnte und wollte Bettina nicht einfach hinnehmen.

 

Das einzig verfügbare Trinkwasser für die Menschen in einem Dorf in der Volta Region.

Und so wurde aus einmal Ghana ein „für immer“. Bettina lebte zunächst bei den Einheimischen im Dorf Apewu, wo sie 2003 zur „Nkosuoheema“, das bedeutet Königin der Entwicklung, ernannt und „enstooled“ wurde.

Am Lake Bosomtwi traf Bettina auf Victor Manu und Emmanuel Stephenson. Schnell fanden die drei heraus, dass sie dasselbe Ziel verfolgen und „in die gleiche Richtung blicken“.

Der Schlüssel zu einer langfristig erfolgreichen Projektentwicklung und -etablierung ist für sie die „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“. Das bedeutet konkret, dass es keine Fremden sind, die Projekte im Dorf umsetzen, sondern die Bewohner selbst entscheiden und Projekte verwirklichen.

Die „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ ist ein Leitspruch, der zwar seit einigen Jahren auch immer häufiger in der Presse genannt wird, aber selten so konsequent zur Anwendung kommt wie bei Madamfo Ghana – den Freunden Ghanas.

Um ihr Ziel in die Tat umzusetzen, gründete Bettina in Deutschland den Verein Madamfo Ghana e.V. sowie die Madamfo Ghana Foundation in Ghana. Das war ein essenzieller Schritt, um als Rechtspartner der ghanaischen Regierung sowohl Personal als auch andere Fördermittel, wie z. B. Land für entsprechende Hilfsprojekte, zu erhalten. Dadurch ist der Verein sehr flexibel in der Interaktion mit den lokalen Behörden und kann gleichzeitig Spendengelder einsparen, da mögliche Folgekosten, wie z. B. Personalkosten für Schulen, Kindergärten und Krankenhäuser, entfallen. Wirkungsvoller lassen sich Nachhaltigkeit und die Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe nicht umsetzen!

Dieses Engagement und ihr visionärer Projektansatz brachten Bettina bereits viele Ehrungen ein:

Bettina entschied sich bereits in jungen Jahren dafür, mit den Ghanaern gemeinsam für die Zukunft zu kämpfen und für ihre Freunde im Land einzustehen. Mit ihrem Engagement brachte sie vor 20 Jahren einen Stein ins Rollen, der das Leben vieler Ghanaer verändert und nachhaltig positiv beeinflusst hat.

Über 80 Projekte konnte sie mit Madamfo Ghana bereits realisieren. Damit ließen sich über eine Million Menschen durch Aufklärungsprogramme erreichen. Knapp 500 Jugendlichen wurde bereits eine Ausbildung oder ein Studium ermöglicht und unzählige Menschen konnten medizinisch behandelt und operiert werden.

1.200 Kinder erhalten durch das Madamfo Ghana Schulspeisungsprogramm täglich ein warmes Mittagessen. Darüber hinaus unterstützt ein Fond gezielt behinderte Kinder und mithilfe flexibler Nothilfe-Projekte können in akuten Situationen Leben gerettet werden!

Das Wiederaufforstungsprogramm im Norden Ghanas schafft Einkommensmöglichkeiten für die lokale Bevölkerung und setzt der Landflucht gezielt Hoffnung entgegen. Abgerundet wird das Projekt mit Klimaschutz- und Bildungsprogrammen für über 15.000 Kinder. Ein Programm zur Haltung von Bienen wird in 2020 folgen.