Kyekyewere Health Center

The Dunkwa Kyekyewere Health Center should be expanded by a women’s and men’s ward (2018/2019), by additional beds for the Clinic of Reproductive Children’s Health/Children’s Hospital (2020) and by additional staff quarters (2021). Furthermore, the clinic is to be equipped with urgently needed hospital equipment (2018-2022).

Background:

The Dunkwa Kyekyewere Health Center was built in 1974. The following medical fields are covered by the clinic: prenatal care, reproductive child health, paediatric clinic, ultrasound examinations, laboratory, outpatient and inpatient care as well as patient monitoring. In recent decades, the population has risen sharply, which is why health care is no longer guaranteed for everyone.
The clinic has only a very small room for patients who need inpatient care. In addition, women/children and men are accommodated together. Furthermore, there is a lack of important equipment to ensure a smooth, daily routine in the clinic routine. There are not enough staff since there is no staff accommodation.

Target Group:

The Dunkwa Kyekyewere Health Center is located in the Upper Denkyira Municipal, Central Region of Ghana, about 20 kilometres away from its capital. The village is surrounded by 29 municipalities. About 15,000 people live there. Dunkwa alone has 6,000 inhabitants. The Health Center is the only institution for health care in this region and has a very high number of patients.

Status: in realization
Costs: approx. 150,000 Euro

 


THE PROJECT AREA


IMPRESSIONS OF THE PROJECT

Health Center für Kyekyewere

Projektziel:
Das Dunkwa Kyekyewere Health Center soll um eine Frauen- und Männerstation (2018/2019), zusätzliche Betten für die Klinik für Reproduktive Kindergesundheit/ Kimderkrankenhaus (2020) und Personalunterkünfte (2021) erweitert werden. Außerdem soll die Klinik mit dringend benötigtem Krankenhaus-Equipment (2018-2021) ausgestattet werden.

Hintergrund:
Das Dunkwa Kyekyewere Health Center wurde 1974 erbaut. Folgende Bereiche werden durch die Klinik abgedeckt: Schwangerschaftsvorsorge, reproduktive Kindergesundheit, Kinderklinik, Ultraschall-Untersuchungen, Labor, ambulante und stationäre Versorgung sowie Patientenüberwachung.
In den letzten Jahrzehnten ist die Bevölkerungszahl stark gestiegen, weshalb die Gesundheitsversorgung nicht mehr für jeden gewährleistet ist.
Die Klinik hat nur einen sehr kleinen Raum für Patienten, die stationär versorgt werden müssen. Dort werden zudem Frauen/Kinder und Männer gemeinsam untergebracht. Außerdem fehlt es an wichtiger Ausstattung, um einen reibungslosen Klinikalltag zu gewährleisten.
Es gibt nicht genug Personal, da es keine Personalunterkünfte gibt.

Zielgruppe:
Das Dunkwa Keyekyewere Health Center liegt im Upper Denkyira Municipal der Central Region in Ghana, etwa 20 Kilometer von der Municipal Hauptstadt entfernt. Das Dorf ist umgeben von weiteren 29 Gemeinden. Insgesamt leben dort etwa 15.000 Menschen. Allein in Dunkwa Kyekyewere sind es über 6.000 Einwohner. Das Health Center stellt dort die einzige Gesundheitsversorgung dar und hat ein hohes Patientenaufkommen.

Status: in der Realisierung durch die Unterstützung von GTP Schäfer, Grevenbroich
Kosten: ca. 150.000€

 


DAS PROJEKTGEBIET